top of page

Marks And Spencer 'Oat and Barley' Porridge Pot Review

Marks and Spencer..... Known here in the UK as a posh food store with interesting products and premium ready meals. But how does their porridge live up to this?

Price: I think it was £1-£1.80?? I forgot... But I think porridge pots are overpriced for what you get anyway. This one was high quality porridge though so worth the extra. Taste: Very creamy! I was surprised at this because-as you add water- the taste can be quite watery and plain but this wasn't at all. It was sweet too even though there was no added sugar listed on the ingredients: if I am going to be critical I would say it was too sweet towards the end.

Texture: Because of the mix of whole oats and barley with the flakes too, the texture is mixed between smooth with chewy bits. It keeps it interesting when eating. When I added the amount of water it instructed and left it, the oats became VERY thick, like cement! I had to add some more water and leave it for a bit longer to get it so it wasn't so claggy. Even then it became stodgy and thick again, but more manageable to eat!

Overall, this pot was ok. I would have it again. 8/10

Have you tried this? Let me know what you think!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page